Can a car be titled in two states?

Approx Reading Time: 8 minutes

There are a variety of reasons to register a car in a different state other than the state of permanent residence. The most common reasons would be being a snowbird, attending college, visiting for work purposes, and simply because the rates are lower in the other state. But the most common question that everybody faces while going to another state is can you register or insure your car in two different states?

Can a car be titled in two states?

No, registering a car gives it a unique number, and it is not legal that a car has two of those numbers. Where a car must be registered depends on where the vehicle is primarily used. And from state to state. Registration deadlines and requirements for registration also differ from state to state.

Can a car be titled in two states? 1

Keeping the laws in mind and staying within a budget limit, I simply can say, of course, you can insure or register your car in two different states. That's not all. There are plenty of options in different states that will allow anyone to drive a car around with the number plate of a different state. But, that comes with some rules and regulations too. Without further ado, let's get some expert opinion on this!

Legal & Illegal

When talking about vehicle registration, there's a fine line between what's legal and what's not. There are many people who insure or register their car in a different state just because the rates are lower there. That saves some bucks of course but creates a huge problem for the law. You see, doing that is a complete fraud to the constitution.

All the states in the US and Canada have certain rules and regulations when it comes to vehicle licensing and insuring. There are certain limits to which you can extend your registration. But, none of the states allow anyone to license the vehicles at another state just because the rates are lower. If you permanently reside in a state, your car and everything should be insured to that address. You can't just give away your secondary address or vacation home address as your registration address.

From what I've seen, the insurance cost is high in crime-ridden cities. But, the cost is much lower in rural states. But you can't just register your car elsewhere just because the rates there are lower. So, what can you do if you're not going to permanently stay at a secondary home in another state? What should snowbirds who just visit a state for a couple of months do?

Well, to get a clear concept on the registration process, first you must know the laws in different states. Let's get a quick look at it!

Registration Laws

Actually, every state excluding New Hampshire requires a valid insurance policy before anyone can register their car. After a car is bought in that state, the person who bought it must provide valid proof of insurance for the car, a valid driver's license, and the designated car title to the state DMV. That way, the state knows everything about your car and the local law can keep track of the ongoing affairs associated with your car. Here's a small overview of the laws around different states inside the US!

State
Registration Deadline
Requirements for Registration
Vehicle Inspection
Alabama
30 days after entering the state
Car's title and valid previous registration
Required except college students and military personnel
Alaska
60 days after entering the state
Car's title and valid previous registration
Required
Arizona
210 days after entering the state
Car's title and valid previous registration
Required except college students and military personnel
Arkansas
180 days after entering the state
Car's title and valid previous registration
Required except college students and military personnel
California
Not required if already registered in another state
Not required unless seeking permanent residency
Inspection required if permanent residency is fixed for registration
Colorado
90 days after entering the state
Car's title and valid previous registration
Required for individual
Connecticut
60 days after entering the state
Car's title and valid previous registration
Required for individual
Delaware
Not required if already registered in another state
Not required unless seeking permanent residency
Inspection required if permanent residency is fixed for registration
Florida
10 days after entering the state
Car's title and valid previous registration
Required except college students and military personnel
Georgia
30 days after entering the state
Car's title and valid previous registration
Required for each residency
Hawaii
30 days after entering the state
Car's title and valid previous registration
Required
Idaho
90 days after entering the state
Car's title and valid previous registration
Required except college students and military personnel
Illinois
Not required if already registered in another state
Not required unless seeking permanent residency
Inspection required if permanent residency is fixed for registration
Indiana
60 days after entering the state
Car's title and valid previous registration
Required per residency
Iowa
30 days after entering the state
Car's title and valid previous registration
Required except college students and military personnel
Kansas
90 days after entering the state
Car's title and valid previous registration
Required per residency
Kentucky
Not required if already registered in another state
Not required unless seeking permanent residency
Inspection required if permanent residency is fixed for registration
Louisiana
10 days after entering the state
Car's title and valid previous registration
Required except college students and military personnel
Maine
Not required if already registered in another state
Not required unless seeking permanent residency
Inspection required if permanent residency is fixed for registration
Maryland
60 days after entering the state
Car's title and valid previous registration
Required except college students and military personnel
Massachusetts
Not required if already registered in another state
Not required unless seeking permanent residency
Inspection required if permanent residency is fixed for registration
Michigan
90 days after entering the state
Car's title and valid previous registration
Required except college students and military personnel
Minnesota
60 days after entering the state
Car's title and valid previous registration
Required except college students and military personnel
Mississippi
30 days after entering the state
Car's title and valid previous registration
Required except college students and military personnel
Missouri
30 days after entering the state
Car's title and valid previous registration
Required except college students and military personnel
Montana
60 days after entering the state
Car's title and valid previous registration
Required except college students and military personnel
Nebraska
30 days after entering the state
Car's title and valid previous registration
Required for each individual
Nevada
30 days after entering the state
Car's title and valid previous registration
Required per residence
New Hampshire
60 days after entering the state
Car's title and valid previous registration
Required per residence
New Jersey
60 days after entering the state
Car's title and valid previous registration
Required
New Mexico
180 days after entering the state
Car's title and valid previous registration
Required except college students and military personnel
New York
Not required if already registered in another state
Not required unless seeking permanent residency
Inspection required if permanent residency is fixed for registration
North Carolina
60 days after entering the state
Car's title and valid previous registration
Required except college students and military personnel
North Dakota
Not required if already registered in another state
Not required unless seeking permanent residency
Inspection required if permanent residency is fixed for registration
Ohio
30 days after entering the state
Car's title and valid previous registration
Required except college students and military personnel
Oklahoma
30 days after entering the state
Car's title and valid previous registration
Required except college students and military personnel
Oregon
Not required if already registered in another state
Not required unless seeking permanent residency
Inspection required if permanent residency is fixed for registration
Pennsylvania
Not required if already registered in another state
Not required unless seeking permanent residency
Inspection required if permanent residency is fixed for registration
Rhode Island
30 days after entering the state
Car's title and valid previous registration
Required except college students and military personnel
South Carolina
45 days after entering the state
Car's title and valid previous registration
Required except college students and military personnel
Tennessee
30 days after entering the state
Car's title and valid previous registration
Required except college students and military personnel
Texas
Not required if already registered in another state. Can make nearly 5 occasional trips consisting not more than 5 days each
Not required unless seeking permanent residency
Inspection required if permanent residency is fixed for registration
Utah
60 days after entering the state
Car's title and valid previous registration
Required except college students and military personnel
Vermont
60 days after entering the state
Car's title and valid previous registration
Required except college students and military personnel
Virginia
180 days after entering the state
Car's title and valid previous registration
Required per residency
Washington
30 days after entering the state
Car's title and valid previous registration
Required
Washington, D.C.
30 days after entering the state. Can extend for up to 180 days with some additional fee
Car's title and valid previous registration
Required except college students and military personnel
West Virginia
30 days after entering the state
Car's title and valid previous registration
Required
Wisconsin
Not required if already registered in another state
Not required unless seeking permanent residency
Inspection required if permanent residency is fixed for registration
Wyoming
Not required if already registered in another state. Visitors can stay no longer than 120 days without state registration
Not required unless seeking permanent residency
Inspection required if permanent residency is fixed for registration

Disclaimer: Laws and rules can change. Always check with the correct authorities what applies to you.

Can a car be titled in two states? 2

Licensing your car in two different states is not possible, buying two different cars for two states is an option. If you're just visiting another state for a couple of weeks or months, know the certain rules from this chart and plan accordingly.